Back on the Grid

Sundays, don’t you just love them?  Great for chilling out and lazing about, but not for me! Today has been set aside to allow me to do all things ‘crafty’ related, whether it’s updating my Pintrest boards, icing my latest batch of gingerbread biscuits or trying out some new paper cut designs.  Oh and not forgetting (most importantly) updating my craft blog!

I have finally got the chance to sit down and type a new blog post today, but I’ve been up to so much since I did my last one (way back in early June) that I don’t know where to begin…I’ve been paper cutting, sight-seeing and shopping in London and baking.

Well firstly I think I must share with you my latest paper cut design to date.  I have to admit I am really pretty chuffed with it, as it’s my largest one so far.  I am getting more confident at working on a slightly bigger scale.  Although, I have to be honest I spent quite a while designing this one, as I wanted to create a cut with my brand name, ‘The Crafty Juggler’ and I wanted it to reflect all the things that I like or have a passion for.

Here was my first draft:

CJ design Take 1

Surprise, surprise, but the Virgo in me wasn’t happy with it, so I changed the design (twice) until I was happy with it.  I don’t know why I do it to myself, really I don’t!  Anyway, I started to cut parts away and as I got nearer the end my hands begin to get more sweaty (sorry peeps) and I was thinking that if I made a wrong cut or had a tear at this point then I would probably have a mini toddler tantrum before starting all over again, but thankfully luck (or skill?) was on my side.  I still have some details to cut away, but I am pleased with the cut so far and am still debating what colour background it should have…I’m still as indecisive as ever!

Last weekend, Hubby and I decided to spend the Sunday together up in London.  The weather was a bit overcast, but soon brightened up.  We headed to the wonderfully inspiring Spitalfields Market first for a browse and happened to catch a bit of Bollywood flash mob in action!  We then headed off to one of my favourite haunts Tottenham Court Road where I couldn’t stop myself (obviously) from having a good old browse in the art department of Paperchase.

After all this early Sunday morning mooching, we headed to Cafe Nero’s where I indulged in my usual vanilla latte and chocolate croissant.  I couldn’t help creating a pattern in my coffee froth!

Refreshed and ready for more mooching to ensue, we made our way to the amazing new Foyles bookshop on Charing Cross Road.  It was heaven, floor upon floor of gorgeous books just waiting to be lovingly held and read.  Well, needless to say we both had a little (okay big) splurge on some books.

The paper cutting ones had been on my list for a while and yes, I know I could pick them up cheaper on-line, but when I saw how amazing they were I just had to get them there and then.

I can never resist the lure of children’s books either when I’m in a book store. ‘Fall Walk’ by Virgina Brimhall Snow reminded me of my trips to New York in the Autumn as well as fed my obsession with leaves…’The Day The Crayons Quit’ by Drew Daywalt and illustrated by Oliver Jeffers is just great.  It is such a clever book but based on such a simple idea.  I always remember using up my red crayon/pencil/felt pen first, only ever outlining in black and blue being used for endless seas and skies.  I think its just as good a read for adults as for children, but judge it for yourselves and last but not least ‘Mr White’ by Yiting Lee is just a nice little story about colour.

Laden down with a couple of heavy bags full of books, we then ventured to the Southbank, which just so happened to have a ‘Festival of Love’ show on.  The Southbank was full of colour:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We popped in to the Southbank shop for a browse of their latest quirky and original products and dribbled at the sights and smells of the food market.  Then ventured up  on the Southbank Centre Roof Cafe which was full of greenery and people buzzing in the heat of the Summer sunshine, before heading to Giraffe for some dinner before heading home.

Speaking of food, I’m off for a tea break before writing my next instalment. See in 10!

 

Leave a comment